panaiweb.blogg.se

External hard drive time machine compatible
External hard drive time machine compatible













external hard drive time machine compatible

I have an active 13-port USB hub ( described here with a test report), which takes care of all my external HDDs. Personally, I work a lot on the MacBook Pro and like to have 2,5 inch hard drives that don't necessarily need their own power supply. The backups of my wife's Mac have also been reliably stored on this for years (photo: Sir Apfelot).

external hard drive time machine compatible

The WD Elements is the "good and cheap line" from Western Digital. Intenso Memory Center 8TB - I actually didn't want to list them here because there were some reports of failures but if you swear by Intenso, you can take a look at it.Western Digital Elements Desktop 8TB - also a good model.Western Digital My Book 8TB - good and cheap my WD disks haven't had a single failure for years.LaCie d2 Professional 8TB - more expensive but chic design.Seagate Expansion Desktop 8 TB capacity - Price / offer: Very good.At the moment, however, the 8 TB models are the ones with the best price-performance ratio. You can make the selection when you are on the product page. Almost all models are also available with 6 TB, 10 TB and sometimes also 12 TB. If you can live with the fact that your hard drive comes with its own power supply and is therefore more suitable for iMac, Mac Mini and Power Mac, you will benefit from high capacities and low prices with these hard drives. Better suggestions and criticism are always welcome! What I am writing here are not official recommendations from Apple or rules that someone has set, but are merely tips for you that I have gathered from my years of experience with Macs and with Time Machine. This includes, above all, the selection of the appropriate storage medium. The backups are created in the background - usually when the Mac is idle anyway - and you usually don't have to worry about anything if you have everything set up correctly in advance. 9 Bottom line: my hard drive recommendationĪpple's in-house backup solution called "Time Machine" is a recommended feature of macOS that you should definitely use.7 SSD or HDD as a storage medium for Time Machine?.6 What is the capacity of the Time Machine Volume?.5 My tip: never trust Time Machine alone.2 First of all, my hard drive recommendations for anyone who does not want to read a lot.















External hard drive time machine compatible